​​​San Ramon Voices

About the Director

​As a choral director, Ken Abrams has been described as intense, demanding, and passionate. Born and raised in the Bay Area, he is an honor’s graduate of California State University, Hayward, where he majored in vocal performance. He received a Master’s Degree in choral conducting from the University of Illinois where he studied with Ann Howard Jones and Don V Moses. He has been the choral director at San Ramon Valley High School since 1984.

Mr. Abrams was selected as “Teacher Of The Year” in 2006 by the Chamber of Commerce.  He was also awarded the “Teacher of the Year” for the San Ramon Valley Unified School District in 1996 and for San Ramon Valley High School in 2002.

The SRVHS choirs are noted for their commitment to excellence and by their outstanding ranking at competitions and festivals.
The SRVHS choirs have won the Northern California Golden State Choral Competition many times.  In 2014, both the Concert Choir and the Treble Clef took 1st place awards. Since 2001 the SRVHS choirs have won this prestigious event twelve times. In the 2007, both the Chamber Singers AND the Concert Choir won the first place spot.  In the 2004-05 school year, the Chamber Singers won first prize at the KBLX Winter Choral Competition.

Touring is a highlight of the student’s choir experience, and past years have seen the choir in Costa Rica (2010), Spain (2007), Australia and New Zealand (2004), the British Isles (2001), and Central Europe (1998). Domestic tours have included New Orleans (after Hurricane Katrina)  New York City (after the 9-11 attack), Boston, Philadelphia, Chicago and countless other US cities. Highlights of each year are made into an annual double CD recording.

In addition to his duties at San Ramon Valley High School, Mr. Abrams is also the Artistic Director of the Danville Girls Chorus, a community children’s chorus with over one hundred and sixty singers, and currently sits on the ACDA Western Division Board as the High School Representative, and he is the past-president of the California American Choral Director’s Association.